Memories of Grandma

I had another post planned for this week, a post about Alzheimer’s research and new advances in the field.  But on April 1st, I got a phone call.  My grandmother, who has been living with Alzheimer’s for several years, was getting moved to hospice and was not doing well.

The past nine days have been spent visiting her at hospice, hoping for peace and comfort to find her, spending time with aunts, uncles, and cousins, and remembering the grandma we all once knew.

The grandma we remember was the woman who would organize a gigantic garage sale every Memorial Day at their cottage home on the lake.  The woman who would cook in the tiny kitchen at the cottage and feed anyone and everyone who walked through the door.  The woman who would make the world’s best crepes and the most fantastic caramel brownies.  The woman who raised eight kids, took care of her husband, and entertained grandchild after grandchild and never seemed to grow tired.  The woman who always had a kind word and a hug at the ready.

I won’t let Alzheimer’s take my memories, and I will remember the strong, incredible, beautiful woman my grandmother will always be to me.  Even if she has forgotten.

7 responses to “Memories of Grandma

  1. I’m sorry to hear about your Grandma, Caroline. My thoughts are with your family. I think this blog entry is a great tribute to her.

  2. This is also a wonderful tribute! I have tears in my eyes. I’m sure I will see you soon.

  3. Beautiful way to remember her, Caroline. I’m sorry to hear about you and your family’s loss.

  4. I’m sorry to hear about your loss Caroline, but it seems like you have some wonderful memories of her to hold onto

  5. This is a lovely post about your grandma, Caroline. You say a lot in a few words and bring her essence to life. I’m sorry to hear about your loss; this is a great tribute to the bond you shared.

  6. What a heartfelt piece, Caroline, and accompanied by such great photos. Your grandmother sounds like a very special person. My grandmother died two years ago. She said to me once, “I will always be with you.” At the time I wondered how she could know that, but now I understand how she knew. Wishing you and your family peace.

  7. That is so great that your have those pics scanned, I need to do the same with my family’s old photos. Very dignified and heartfelt way to write on a tough subject.

Leave a Reply

